Sound Design

Hello once again my readers.

For this post I will talk about sound design and finding it.

When I first started on the sound I had a big problem finding a site where I could find copyright free sound for the weapons or ambient noise in the game. I tried searching for different sites, but a member of my game design team sent me a link to a website called freesound.org which contains many different sounds completely free.

The biggest problem however except from finding the sound was deciding which sound would be the best suited. For example I was looking to find a sound for our assault rifle in the game and got a large amount of results. As I was scrolling through them I found that it was hard to find a sound that would match in a manner expected in a game. I first found a sound from a real rifle, but decided against that one since it sound more like an explosion than a “proper” rifle. Instead I would look for the sounds made from other sources such as drums or dropping marbles on sheet metal. This created the more expected bang sound needed for our rifle in the game.

 

ladda-ned

This gave me an interesting insight as I studied more about sound design that quite a large amount of sound that is used in games aren’t really common in real life and this continued as I searched for sounds for our bazooka and other weaponry.

However the most difficult part came when I needed to find an ambient sound needed to convey that the game takes place underwater. Searching for underwater ambient noise was just a dead end since most of the recording didn’t match my expectations. 

However I was a bit lucky since the term yielded one useful result which was a cool tide like sound I would say that conveyed a sense of being underwater while not being to obtrusive.

As such I decided to use that as an ambient noise and tried to move to the next part which was finding game music. This task is something I am still working on since I have tried contacting people I know to do it for me for compensation as I lack the skill to create my own song and finding one that isn’t copyrighted seems impossible.

This is all for me this week so see you next time. Bye

 

En reaktion på ”Sound Design

  1. Hello Fellow Project Manager!
    Your blog post has a nice flow and fluent English. Also, props for describing accurately what kind of sounds you were after. I do think everything you write is clear and easy to understand, but I would like some more reasoning (although you already know go pass the mandatory word count).Why was it difficult to find suitable sound files and why are you finding solutions for sound design in the first place? You also mention your expectations and that they we’re not met, but you do not state what those expectations and/or requirements are. I know you personally so I’m aware of your musical background, but a stranger reading your blog is not. You might want to improve on your method 😉
    I liked to read your blog post and I hope you manage to deliver similar posts in the future! (get it? manage??)
    Sun suomalainen ystävä,
    Mikael Sukoinen

    Gillad av 1 person

Lämna en kommentar